A Word About Compost and Other Things

Kitchen compost.

Kitchen compost.

After the long, cold winter, the worms are peeking out of the food-scrap compost bins at our community garden. I wasn’t sure I’d be seeing them again, but there they were caught in the act of consumption and for that I’m grateful. With some pitchfork prodding, the compost fluffed out and we’re on our way. Now to the less-fun task of setting up a schedule of volunteers to receive the compost once or twice a week from our garden neighbors.

Beginnings.

Beginnings.

This garden work was doubly satisfying because my daughter, home on break, was helping me. She’s been involved in the garden since before she was born, first nudging me to think about gardening from a child’s perspective and later telling me what she thought… in great detail. One of the things she took me to task on was how boring it is to stand around watching someone else do the gardening. Sending her off to look for butterflies, I thought I was saving her from chores that I hated doing as a kid. Instead, I made her feel that she was just a visitor. Now I think of her as my partner.

A reminder of why you're doing all this mucking around with rotten vegetables

A reminder of why I do all this mucking around with rotten vegetables.

P.S. If you’re going to the GrowTogether conference tomorrow (Saturday, March 29), I’m leading a workshop on gardening with kids, “Gardening From Toddlers to Teens.” It runs from 11:30 am to 12:45 pm The conference is held at Hostos Community College, 500 Grand Concourse, Bronx, NY 10451, from 8:30am to 4pm (Building C, “East Academic Complex”). One more thing, I think this year’s t-shirt designer for the GT is a longtime gardener at the Clinton Community Garden.

Red wriggler at work at the Clinton Community Garden.

More about GrowTogether: http://www.greenthumbnyc.org/gardenevents.html?qs=2014/03/29/30th-annual-greenthumb-growtogether.

2 thoughts on “A Word About Compost and Other Things

Leave a Reply

